The Banning Museum
Home to Phineas Banning, entrepreneur, the founder of the city of Wilmington, and “the Father of the Port of Los Angeles” – the 23-room house was built in 1864. In 1927 the residence, stagecoach barn, and the surrounding 20 acres of parkland were acquired by the City of Los Angeles, and the residence is now a National Historic Landmark.
The Banning Museum engages visitors in a living-history experience, showing how the family lived, worked, and entertained in the 19th century. Visit the residence and grounds. Guided tours available.
401 East M St., Wilmington